How are you Grillin’ your Chicken?

It’s everywhere you hear sermons about “healthy eating”.  It’s the de facto healthy meat to fill up your plate.  Skinny friends eat it four times a week.   Yes, grilled chicken is a solid choice for healthy eating, but it sometimes gets boring. 

We’ve all thrown the original white meat on the grill, and developed our own style. How are you grillin’ your chicken?

I’m no chef but here’s the tips I’ve learned that have made grilled chicken not so monotonous.  I’d love to hear the tricks you’ve patented.

#1 Pickin’ the Chicken

Those huge chicken breasts take forever to cook.  That usually leads to dry chicken.  Not to mention the portion sizes are huge.  I find getting cutlets or tenderloins allow for quicker cooking, juicier chicken, and more appropriate portions.  (Oh, and don’t forget to get organic!)

#2 Marinades anyone?

I’ve yet to find an effective chicken marinade that didn’t need to soak for several hours.  I’m too impatient.  What say you?  Always marinate?

#3 Pre-fire seasoning

I find good ol’ fashioned seasoned salt and freshly ground black pepper.  I’ve also used seasoned salt, Tony Chachere’s Cajun seasoning, lemon pepper, thyme, and rosemary with great success.

#4 Hot and Fast

I’ve learned you gotta crank the heat up  before chicken meets grill so you get a nice sear.  Also, turning only once is a must.  Don’t play with your chicken!

I’ve also discovered that while caution handling raw chicken is necessary, the fear of salmonella from undercooked chicken has led to an epidemic of dry chicken.  Dry chicken is not, as Alton Brown says, Good Eats. 

There’s a nice window of 5-6 minutes a side for a medium-sized filet (4oz) that cooks it through but leaves the bird nice and juicy.

#5 The Sauce is the Boss

Plain old salt and pepper grilled chicken is great on salads and such, but as an entrée I like to toss my servings in sauce.  For me, basting while cooking is messy and unnecessary.  Tossing is fun and easy. I prefer fun and easy.

Remember, don’t ruin the health quotient by slathering on BBQ sauce high in sugar.  Also be wary of sauces high in sodium.  My go-to sauce is a sweet and spicy mix low in salt and calories, Hotlanta Hot Sauce.

That’s my easy go to method for making, as my little bro recently called, ‘The best chicken I’ve ever tasted!”  Such a refined palate for a 10-year-old.

2 responses to “How are you Grillin’ your Chicken?

  1. I’ll combine your #1 & #2 points here. Do as you say, buy organic chicken cutlets or tenderloins to cut down on cooking time. The marinate them for 15 minutes with these 3 ingredients: the juice of 1 whole lime, 1 minced clove of garlic, 1 tbsp of Worcestershire Sauce. By marinating them for 15 minutes, you’ll allow the chicken to get to room temperature which makes for better grilling. Plus you’ll impress your friends by cooking for them from scratch right in front of them – rather than dumping a bottle of pre-made bbq sauce on your burnt chicken at the end

    • I’ll try it! I’m definitely interested in impressing my friends. 🙂
      I always seem to screw up the marinade. I think I try too hard. Thanks for the suggestion!

What Say You!

