What bad balsamic vinegar taught me about healthy eating

I needed to stock up on balsamic vinegar last month.  So I decided to try the store brand.  It wasn’t good.  Which, of course, is not that big of deal.  But the consequences illustrated an important point central to healthy eating.

If you don’t like something, don’t buy it.  I’ve said before how important it is to stock your house with healthy fare.  And it is, but just keeping healthy food that you don’t like will just cause you to order in or run through a drive thru like always.

See, everyday at work I have a salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  As I said, I didn’t like the store brand vinegar.  What did I use instead?  A fat laden, cream-based caesar dressing a coworker had in the fridge. 

For three weeks now I’ve covered my salad in the unhealthy creamy caesar dressing.  Yesterday I finally bought my old brand of balsamic.

Remember this lesson: eating healthy is supposed to be enjoyable.  Forcing food you don’t enjoy down because it’s “healthy” will never be sustainable and will make you grumpy.  Do it for the sake of your family and friends.

Oh, and here’s the balsamic that has made me eat a healthy salad again:

2 responses to “What bad balsamic vinegar taught me about healthy eating

    • Thanks for the comment!

      There should be a Facebook or Twitter share button at the bottom of each post. If isn’t working try just copying the link a posting in an email or facebook status update. For twitter, you’ll have to shorten the link at bitly.com or another similar service.

      Let me know if that works! Thanks again!

What Say You!

