Eat by Stars: V8, Easy Mac, & more

V8 vegetable juice

Per 8oz: calories 50, fat 0g, carbs 10g, protein 2g

The tagline “Get your diet straight with V8” is a little too much hype (but awfully catchy!).  But this drink can be part of a solid diet.  Just remember to not use it as a substitute for, like, ya know, actual vegetables.  And, it’s got waaay to much sodium.  But, as my grandparents used to do, drinking a small glass of V8 a few times a week certainly won’t hurt.

Prunes

Per ¼ cup (a handful): calories 110, fat 0g, carbs 26g, protein 1g

A healthy snack to be sure.  Heck, an incredible
choice compared to other packaged “snacks” out there.  But these little guys are loaded with sugar.  As an occasional snack they’re stellar.  But be mindful of overindulgence.

 

Easy Mac

Per package: calories 220, fat 4.5g, carbs 39g, protein 7g

Ok, I admit it.  I love this stuff.  I know, I know, there’s better types of macaroni and cheese.  I agree.  My favorite is southern style mac n’ cheese casserole. But the kid in me still loves Easy Mac.  Unfortunately, kids shouldn’t eat this very
often.  Or adults.  It’s all carbs but with an added shot of bad for you saturated fat.  Definitely a treat.

Pancakes

Per 3-4 inch cake: calories 150, fat 1.5g, carbs 31g, protein 0g

Pancakes are obvious treats to be eaten once or twice a year on special occasions (holidays, vacations, when reeealllyy hungover).  Loaded with awful, processed carbs, breakfast doesn’t get much worse.

Actually….

Maple Syrup

Per ¼ cup: calories 210, fat 0g, carbs 53g, protein 0g

I’m even more impressed with Thorn and Rabbit from Super Troopers. It’s liquid sugar.  Dense liquid sugar.  If you’re gonna eat maple syrup it better be on top of pancakes on a special occasion.  No chugging please…

How I determine Star Rankings.

Disclaimer: I take all these pics myself at local markets.  In no way am I attempting to single out a specific brand or company.  One company’s product is not different or better than another’s similar product.

What Say You!

