Eat by Stars: Pomegranate Juice, Chicken Nuggets, & more

Another week, 5 more foods ranked for Eat by Stars.

Brussel Sprouts

Per cup (5-8 sprouts): calories 40, fat<1g, carbs 8g, protein 3g

Ok, I admit it, I’m not a big a fan of brussel sprouts.  My wife loves them though.  She roasts a bunch every couple of weeks.  I swear I’ll keep trying them though cause
man, are they good for you.  Full of vitamins A & C and fiber they should grace your plate frequently.  Even if you aren’t the biggest fan.

Roasted Red Peppers

Per ½ pepper: calories 25, fat 1g, carbs 3g, protein<1g, (sodium 13% DV)

Roasted red peppers are a fantastic way to add flavor without adding a ton of calories, carbs, or fat.  Chop them up and mix with salad, eggs, veggies or pasta.  Put a few strips on a sandwich or taco.  A little bit of added salt is the only thing keeping them out of 5 star territory.

Pomegranate Juice

Per 16 ounce bottle: calories 300, fat 0g, carbs 72g, protein 1g

Pomegranate juice is full of antioxidants.  Antioxidants are good for you.   Pomegranate juice is also full of sugar.  Sugar is not so good for you.  I don’t think downing a bottle a week would be a problem.  Every day?  Maybe a problem.  Unless you’re grabbing it instead of your double mocha venti cappuccino.  (I usually get black coffee at Starbucks so I have no idea if that’s a real drink.  You get the idea.)

Chicken Nuggets

Per 4 pieces: calories 180, fat 12g, carbs 12g, protein 9g

Look, I don’t have kids, but I know they’re fussy eaters and chicken nuggets are gobbled up and easy to prepare.  Giving your child dinosaur shaped chicken thingys won’t be hugely detrimental if, like anything else, it isn’t all they eat.  Try making your own sometime and get
play-with-your-food versions for rare fun occasions.

Boxed Mashed Potatoes

Per ½ cup prepared (a heaping spoonful): calories 180, fat 0g (milk adds the fat), carbs 17g, protein 2g

Mashed potatoes aren’t the greatest staple diet food (too many carbs) so it stands to reason mashed potatoes out of a box don’t offer much either.  At least homemade crushed spuds don’t contain preservatives.  Mash them yourself.   In addition to being a little healthier, you’ll also work out aggression and feel a sense of accomplishment.

Disclaimer: I take all these pics myself at local markets.  Unless specifically noted, I am not attempting to single out a specific brand or company.  One company’s product is not different or better than another’s similar product. I get all my nutritional info from the package.  For items without packages I consult fitday.com and the USDA Nutrient Data Laboratory website.

2 responses to “Eat by Stars: Pomegranate Juice, Chicken Nuggets, & more

  1. Great blog post, this is exactly what I posted about last week. Keep up the great work.

What Say You!

