I Don’t Understand Turkey Ham

Thursday means Eat by Stars.  This week is five grocery items picked at random.  Including a sample from some new type of mashed up animal.  Very sci-fi.

Also, apparently this week I couldn’t find much worthy of a healthy rating.  I promise to do better next week.

Honest Sweet Tea®

Per bottle: calories 100, fat 0g, carbs 25g, protein 0g

It’s sweet tea.  Sweet tea is a sugar loaded soft drink.  However, the folks at Honest Tea give you the best option if you’re hankering for this southern classic.  It uses only 5 ingredients with nothing requiring a chemistry degree to decifer.  Plus, for you hippies out there, they use organic sugar and free trade tea.

Jennie O’ Turkey Ham®

Per 6 ounce (palm size) serving: calories 180, fat 9g, carbs 63g, protein 24g, (salt 63% DV)

Is there a TurPiggy farm somewhere producing all these hybrid Turkey/Pork options?  Turkey Ham makes no sense.  When something doesn’t make sense, don’t eat it.  Yes, that includes turkey bacon.  Like the ham variety, it’s full of fillers and processed beyond belief.  Get the real thing.  Ham/Bacon made from actual pigs.

VanCamp’s Pork and Beans®

Per can: calories 385, fat 3.5g, carbs 80.5g, protein 21g, (salt 56%)

Unlike our Turkey Ham this product has pork in it.  Sadly pork is listed as an ingredient in “contains less than 2%” section.  So we have pork and beans with very little pork.  Perhaps it should be called “Beans, other stuff, some sugar, and pork”.  Doesn’t quite roll off the tongue as well, huh?  Leave this on the shelf.

Light Hidden Valley Ranch Singles®

Per cup: calories 200, fat 17g, carbs 7g, protein 2.5g, (salt 29%DV)

This is one of the worst serving offenders I’ve seen.  The package indicates 80 calories per serving.  It’s natural to assume that’s one cup.  Not a chance.  You need to be a math whiz to figure out the true nutritional info.  Luck for you, math was my best subject.  And I have a calculator on my smart phone.

Oregon Canned Blueberries in Light Syrup®

Per can: calories 330, fat 0g, carbs 75g, protein 3g

These delicious and super healthy blueberries have been defiled by a sugary syrup mixture.  For shame!  Promise me you’ll never get any fruit in “light syrup”.  Promise!

Disclaimer: I take all these pics myself at local markets.  Unless specifically noted(®), I am not attempting to single out a specific brand or company.  One company’s product is not different or better than another’s similar product. I get all my nutritional info from the package.  For items without packages I consult fitday.com and the USDA Nutrient Data Laboratory website.

One response to “I Don’t Understand Turkey Ham

  1. Nice blog and posts .
    Visit my blog LOYFLY

What Say You!

