It’s About Thyme

A few weeks ago I extolled the virtues of my herb garden planter box and promised to give quick guides on each of the herbs growing on my windowsill.  Today let’s talk about thyme.

Every morning I peel about a dozen thyme leaves off their stem and toss them in my omlette along with salt and pepper.  It makes my ordinary breakfast taste somewhat sophisticated.  Which, in turn, makes me feel more sophisticated.

Besides eggs, thyme adds a nice complement to pasta, bean dishes, and seafood.  Thyme adds a satisfying undercurrent to dishes, but rarely overpowers the food.  Making it a perfect fresh herb to experiement with.

Give thyme some, ahem, time, in your kitchen and you’ll become a better cook. Or at least feel more sophisticated.  Possibly French.

What Say You!

