What I Gain from Doughnut Day

IMG_0280Every New Year’s Day my wife and I indulge in doughnuts.  Specifically, a whole box of doughnuts.  All in the above photo will be downed within 24 hours by two people.  Doughnut Day is a once a year treat.  And is the highlight of what has become for me the fattest day of the year.

See, I don’t always take my own advice regarding the holidays.  I eat too much.  Drink too much booze.  And rarely exercise.  Perhaps that makes me typical.

Doughnut Day is the culmination of it all.  After weeks of poor dietary habits and laziness today I’ve reached my unhealthiest zenith   Or, more accurately, nadir.

But my indiscretions the past several weeks Always provides me with something.  Motivation.  I cannot wait to work hard in the gym.  I cannot wait to fill up on veggies and lean meat.  I cannot wait to not feel mildly hungover.

This isn’t about resolutions.  This is about knowing myself.  I’ve repeated this pattern before so I don’t fret about the 3 pounds my frame has added recently.  I’m confident in my ability to reactivate the good habits.

Here’s the lesson for this new year, instead of a resolution, concentrate on knowing thyself.  Learn how YOU handle your diet and health.  Concentrate on what motivates you.  What slows your progress.  Filter out the rest.

Now, which doughnut to start with?

One response to “What I Gain from Doughnut Day

  1. Pingback: This %#!^*$*! Thing is Only a Tool | Essentials of Nutrition

What Say You!

